Pain is Temporary — What Running Teaches Me

M. Yu
4 min readMay 1, 2024

--

Photo by SwapnIl Dwivedi on Unsplash

Summer is just around the corner. The day is getting longer.

I went for a run in the evening while it was still bright outside. Feeling the wind brushing over my face, the sunshine gently enveloped me like a golden veil. That is life.

I went for a 10km run today and completed the May 5k challenge immediately on the first of May.

Image by author

My performance was not too bad. What made me even happier was, when I was running, I was appreciating what this sport teaches me.

I resumed running regularly two years ago, but still, it’s not my favorite sport. I cannot shamelessly say that I love running because that is just not true.

I hate running.

Exactly because I hate it, I run, all the time, consistently.

Why?

Because it teaches me lessons I figure out by myself. It’s just like a silent teacher, guiding me to discover the truths in countless aspects.

Lesson #1 Pain is temporary

I feel pain when I run. Partly because I hate it, and partly because I always try to run faster than my body allows me to. Sometimes I even feel stressed if it’s my running day. But I still go anyway because I know I love the feeling after a few kilometers so much that the pain can be neglected.

The pleasure it brings to me surpasses the pain. It lasts longer and keeps me inspired in the long run. Pain is temporary but the pleasure after enduring the pain is long-term.

Would you choose temporary pain + long-term pleasure OR temporary pleasure + long-term pain? Let me know in the comments. :)

Lesson #2 Noises are gone

When I run fast enough, I can hardly notice how people look at me. I don’t hear what the passers-by are talking about. The noises are simply gone, which in turn naturally gives me the “I don’t care” attitude.

It tells me, that if I am fast and excellent at what I do, I won’t be sensitive to what people think about me. I’m simply too busy focusing on myself and the great work I am creating.

Lesson #3 You get attention

Continuing the fast-running discussion, another lesson is, that when you’re fast enough, you get people’s attention.

Applying it to all the other aspects of life: when I’m fast enough and outstanding, I get people’s attention. Attention is the new commodity.

Lesson #4 Release stress

I’m not an anxious person, but I do feel stressed now and then.

Actually, I was a little stressed earlier today. After 2km of running, the stress is gone and replaced by solutions + calmness.

Less anxiety and more calmness — that’s what running brings to me.

Lesson #5 Good for the health

I don’t need to write more here, everyone knows that running is good for health with a few preconditions like don’t burden your body too much, don’t go running with sleep deprivation, etc.

Lesson #6 Nothing can hurt me

If I can endure something hard and I hate, what else can I not accomplish? Nothing can hurt me.

Lesson #7 Build the confidence

Running is an activity in which you can see the instant result. After accomplishing a planned run, you surely feel a stronger sense of accomplishment.

Lesson #8 Enjoy solitude

In the beginning, I had running buddies and we chatted while we ran. Later I enjoyed it more when I ran by myself. Social life is good, but we need space for ourselves to think and reflect. My mind is calm and active at the same time while I run: It is calm because I’m less stressed. It is active because I can switch my focus away from stress and put it on thinking about creative solutions.

Lesson #9 The feeling, that I can stop the time

Einstein’s theory of relativity states that time slows down as speed increases.

The faster I run, the slower time flows. I seize the moments in my hands.

Lesson #10 Don’t judge by the look

In daily life, I never wear sports clothes. Many people have the impression that I am the kind of person who would enjoy Yoga and dancing. But that’s simply not true. I like speed, I like outdoor sports.

Don’t judge a person by their look. :)

Lesson #11 I am in control of my own pace

I have full control of my pace. I slow down to enjoy the beautiful sceneries on the path and I accelerate when I feel like challenging myself a bit more.

Same as life, I have full control of my pace in my life.

Lesson #12 As long as we can breathe, we can master our lives

The pace can be controlled by breathing. By controlling the depth and frequency of your breath, you control your body and your mind.

By nature breathing is a basic life skill that everyone has. By nature we are all good at controlling our breath, sometimes we just don’t practice enough.

Since we all can control our breath, in turn, we are all capable of controlling our body and mind — we can master our lives.

Do you like running? What sports do you like? Do they teach you some lessons as well? Share with us in the comments!

--

--

M. Yu

Sharing my thoughts and knowledge here. Into: productivity, better-self, business, technology, philosophy, literature, music, art, fashion, sports